Account links

From PlanFix
Jump to: navigation, search

One of the benefits of Planfix is that it offers the ability to link different accounts. This enables you to do several things. For one, account links can be useful for top-level managers of multi-company groups, who can use one account to track work being done by different companies. These managers can use one account to view different projects and tasks that are in fact happening in the separate accounts of the different companies in the group.

Account links are also useful for freelancers. A freelancer can use one account for all of their work, while each of their clients can work within their own individual account. By using an account link, the freelancer can work with multiple clients without logging into each client's separate account.

The Planfix team uses account links when working on Support requests: users assign us tasks from their accounts, and we process them in our own account.


Important: account links do not synchronize data between accounts. The method of linking accounts that we use implies that only the tasks and actions (comments) that the assigner is notified about will appear in their linked account. If you simply create a link between two accounts, this doesn't mean that all the tasks from one account will automatically appear in the other. However, it does mean that as soon as there's a new action in a task in a linked account and you are on the list of those to be notified, a copy of the task will appear in your main account. In this way, tasks that are in progress will move into your main account.


Outcome 1: You can communicate with your coworkers in a task without worrying about sending notifications to clients or contractors from external accounts. These other users won't see your comments in their account. A simple analogy that illustrates this concept is an email chain: if there's someone in an email thread but you exclude them from your response, they'll drop out of the chain.

Outcome 2: If a task gets linked to another account, the access rights of the other account are applied to the task. Subsequently, in addition to the user whom you notified, this information will be available to their managers and the administrators of their account, as well as other users who are given access to this task in the user's account. However, all of these people will see only the actions (comments) where the user from their account was notified.

Outcome 3: Even if you have direct access to linked accounts, you should work—create tasks, write comments, etc.—in your main account. This is the only way to guarantee that your main account contains the most up-to-date information.



Useful information

If you are communicating with a user from another account and you delete a comment, it will be deleted in the other user's account too. This is helpful if you accidentally send an unfinished message or send a message to the wrong person.


Go To